Homemade Ketchup!

ketchupOK. Pioneer project number one. I managed to scrounge 2 1/2 more lbs of tomatoes off the plants, mostly cherry, about half of them sun gold tomatoes. Sun gold tomatoes are sweet, which I find challenging. I was thinking about making a tomato jam recipe that was recommended by a friend, but I didn’t have vodka (!) and I don’t know, the idea of putting two cups of sugar into tomatoes kind of puts me off. Almost as much as going out in the middle of a Wednesday afternoon and buying vodka. I did want something that would be spicy and sweet.

One thing I have been wanting to do is make ketchup. I looked around on the web at several simple recipes. The ones I’ve seen in the past have called for tons of tomatoes and lots and lots of time. I wasn’t really into that.

I had settled on “curried ketchup” and a simple recipe. I started by roasting the tomatoes. But as I was getting ready to put it together, I realized that surely Amy Thielen would have something to say about this! And yes, in her “projects” section, she has a recipe for ketchup.

I didn’t follow it exactly, but I did use her spice sachet.

Basically, I did this:

Quick Homemade Spicy Ketchup

adapted from Amy Thielen’s “The New Midwestern Table”

2 1/2 lbs of tomatoes
small onion
1 inch ginger, chopped
3 large garlic cloves, chopped
1 tsp sea salt

spice sachet, wrapped in a square of cheese cloth and secured:
cinnamon stick
1 tsp allspice berries
1 tsp black peppercorns
1 tsp coriander
1 sprig fresh rosemary

1 Tbs brown sugar
1 Tbs apple cider vinegar

Roast tomatoes for 15 minutes in 350 degree oven until collapsed and shriveled. Cool slightly. Put in a blender with ginger, garlic, salt, onion, and puree until it’s really smooth.

Pour into a cast iron skillet through a fine mesh sieve (a food mill would be better, but this works for me), pushing to get all the liquids into the pan. Add the sachet and simmer on a very low temperature for 1-2 hours, until it’s the consistency you want. Thielen puts it through a blender again, but I just put mine into a jar (I got a little over a half-pint) and into the fridge. It should keep a couple of months (longer in the freezer). I don’t think it will last that long.

This entry was posted in garden, recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Ketchup!

  1. sarah says:

    YUM. And, while I tend to agree…sugar in tomatoes is unsettling… the super spicy/sweet tomato jam made me want goat cheese and crackers. May do this one next!

  2. You always keep me thinking! Seems like less than 24 hours ago I was gazing at those beautiful, beautiful prairie pix (not sure I’ve ever seen a prairie in my life), and now homemade ketchup. You keep my mind full of new ideas. Thanks for so much enrichment, Susan. As I’ve said before, I just love opening my inbox and seeing something a new post from you. Thanks, thanks.

  3. susansink says:

    Thank you, Jane! You are so sweet! When are you coming for a visit? Also, I am just procrastinating on my writing project today… now I have to get back to it!

  4. rose says:

    Hubbie has to follow a very low salt diet – this fancy “ketchup” fits the bill! Thank you!

  5. Ema Jones says:

    I’m adding some garlic salt instead of garlic cloves, hope it’s fine, as I don’t wanna use garlic here directly…

  6. susansink says:

    The garlic and ginger were not strong in this recipe– and were “pushed out” with the solids. Most recipes cook down the onion, ginger, garlic with the tomatoes first, before pureeing. In the end, the things in the spice sachet gave it the most flavor. Everything else sort of dissolved. Which is to say, garlic salt will be just fine!

  7. susansink says:

    I didn’t have coriander seeds so just put about 1/2 tsp directly in the puree when I added the spice packet.

Leave a comment